Healthy baked Falafels

I can’t believe that it is already October, I can still remember January 2016. Time does really fly, it’s true what they say if you enjoy doing something, do more of it. Stop wasting time and being afraid of change, step outside of that comfort zone and explore. I have to admit, when I look back I kind of wished I did more fun things instead of holding back myself. Now that I’m older and wiser, I feel like life is too short wasted on negative people, things that don’t excite me, experiences that don’t add positivity to my life and you know things that don’t help me grow or learn.

The thing I love most about staying up late, are these late night thoughts sometimes they can feel draining but it feels good to write or type… it really helps clear the mind. It helps to talk about things but not all people will understand, people can only understand you at the depth that they’ve met themselves at. Situations, experiences, history, childhood all shape a person’s personality. Hence why, these days when situations happen, I tend to try to understand more rather than jump to conclusions and get mad or judge. I try my best not to judge people and situations because you never really know what someone is going through. Someone could be having a bad day or something drastic has happened to them, we all need to be more compassionate and understanding in this world. If you can’t find a kind person around you, BE ONE. Anyways enough yapping, time for my recipe!!!

I decided to make baked falafels as a healthy alternative to “fried” falafels. It’s super easy and delicious, you have your sautéed onions, garlic, chickpeas, paprika, cumin, fresh parsley, lime juice, lemon juice and of course some salt and pepper. To bind these goodies up, I added some flour and olive oil. You may be wondering how these managed to hold their shape… well! that’s where the fridge comes in, 30 minutes in the refrigerator and out come these falafels. Once baked, serve it in pita break with Tzatziki, slices of cucumber and tomato! YUM!

Ingredients:

  • 400f of canned chickpeas
  • a small slice of lemon
  • a small slice of lime
  • 1/4 cup parsley (you can add more)
  • 3 cloves of garlic (sautéed)
  • 1 small brown onion (sautéed)
  • 1 teaspoon paprika
  • 1 teaspoon cumin
  • drizzle of olive oil
  • 3 tablespoon flour
  • salt and pepper to taste

Method:

  1. Pre-heat oven to 180 degrees, line a baking tray with cooking oil/spray.
  2. In a pan, sauce the onion and garlic for a few minutes until onions have turned translucent.
  3. In a food processor, add the chickpeas, onion, garlic, cumin, paprika, parsley, olive oil, flour and season it with salt and pepper (a pinch of each will do). Blend until the mixture is almost smooth (DO NOT over blend the mixture – should look a tad chunky).

4. Make small balls out of the mixture and lay them on baking paper. Refrigerate for 30 minutes.

5. Remove the falafels from the fridge and place them on the baking tray prepared with oil. I didn’t have any cooking spray left, so I poured some olive oil and used a glove to spread it around.

img_1407

6. Bake the falafels in the oven for 30-35 minutes or until golden brown and crispy. Make sure to flip the falafels around when it hits the 15 minute mark.

7. Take them out of oven and cool slightly. Enjoy it with pita bread and tzatziki sauce, fill it with cucumbers, tomatoes, your favourite choice of salad! ENJOY 🙂

img_1409

 

 

 

 

 

Leave a Reply

